Coverart for item
The Resource Every Day Is for the Thief

Every Day Is for the Thief

Label
Every Day Is for the Thief
Title
Every Day Is for the Thief
Creator
Subject
Summary
NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY DWIGHT GARNER, THE NEW YORK TIMES • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY San Francisco Chronicle | NPR | The Root | The Telegraph | The Globe and MailNATIONAL BESTSELLERFINALIST, PHILLIS WHEATLEY BOOK AWARDTEJU COLE WAS NAMED ONE OF THE MOST INFLUENTIAL AFRICANS OF THE YEAR BY NEW AFRICAN MAGAZINEFor readers of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Michael Ondaatje, Every Day Is for the Thief is a wholly original work of fiction by Teju Cole, whose critically acclaimed debut, Open City, was the winner of the PEN/Hemingway Award and a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award, and was named one of the best books of the year by more than twenty publications. Fifteen years is a long time to be away from home. It feels longer still because I left under a cloud. A young Nigerian living in New York City goes home to Lagos for a short visit, finding a city both familiar and strange. In a city dense with story, the unnamed narrator moves through a mosaic of life, hoping to find inspiration for his own. He witnesses the "yahoo yahoo" diligently perpetrating email frauds from an Internet café, longs after a mysterious woman reading on a public bus who disembarks and disappears into a bookless crowd, and recalls the tragic fate of an eleven-year-old boy accused of stealing at a local market. Along the way, the man reconnects with old friends, a former girlfriend, and extended family, taps into the energies of Lagos life--creative, malevolent, ambiguous--and slowly begins to reconcile the profound changes that have taken place in his country and the truth about himself. In spare, precise prose that sees humanity everywhere, interwoven with original photos by the author, Every Day Is for the Thief--originally published in Nigeria in 2007--is a wholly original work of fiction. This revised and updated edition is the first version of this unique book to be made available outside Africa. You've never read a book like Every Day Is for the Thief because no one writes like Teju Cole. Praise for Every Day Is for the Thief"A luminous rumination on storytelling and place, exile and return . . . extraordinary."--San Francisco Chronicle "Cole is following in a long tradition of writerly walkers who, in the tradition of Baudelaire, make their way through urban spaces on foot and take their time doing so. Like Alfred Kazin, Joseph Mitchell, J. M. Coetzee, and W. G. Sebald (with whom he is often compared), Cole adds to the literature in his own zeitgeisty fashion."--The Boston Globe "Crisp, affecting . . . Cole constructs a narrative of fragments, a series of episodes that he allows to resonate."--The New York Times Book Review "Hugely rewarding . . . both a celebration of one of the world's most vibrant cities and a lament over what can be one of the most frustrating and difficult places to live. It is also a story of family breakup and an uneasy homecoming--the narrator has been away for fifteen years and must relearn how to navigate a place that was once home."--NPR"[Every Day Is for the Thief has] a restraint that allows [Cole] to slip in these exquisitely rendered observations on life, love, art that leave you feeling richer and more attuned to your own reality once you've finished reading."--Dinaw Mengestu, The AtlanticFrom the Hardcover edition
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Cole, Teju
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Fiction
  • African American Fiction
  • Literature
Label
Every Day Is for the Thief
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:86ec462a-363c-49e0-8a67-e87fbf1439eb
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780812995794
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
Every Day Is for the Thief
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:86ec462a-363c-49e0-8a67-e87fbf1439eb
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780812995794
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

  • North Fond du Lac Public LibraryBorrow it
    Spillman Public Library 719 Wisconsin Ave, North Fond du Lac, WI, 54937, US
    43.8089201 -88.4810291
Processing Feedback ...